Draw Confirmed for the 2018 Concacaf Men’s Under-20 Championship

first_img Related TopicsSoccer News out of the Concacaf today confirmed the programming for the draw of the 2018 Concacaf Men’s Under-20 Championship, scheduled to be played November 1 -21, at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.The official draw, which will sort the thirty-five participating teams into six groups, for the first round of the competition, will be broadcast Thursday, September 13, 2018 at 10:00 am ET. Fans will be able to follow the event through Concacaf.com and the Confederation’s rights partner networks.Unlike the previous format of the men’s under-20 competition, which included regional qualifiers in the Caribbean and Central America and one final championship, the redesigned 2018 edition will ensure that all the participating teams have access to play more top-level football matches.The draw will be conducted using a single-blind system, involving five pots. Based on the Concacaf Men’s Under-20 Ranking (to be published in the coming weeks), the top six ranked teams will be seeded into position one of each group, while the remaining 29 teams will be distributed in five pots as follows:Seeded Teams (group and position): United States (A1), Mexico (B1), Honduras (C1), Panama (D1) Costa Rica (E1) and El Salvador (F1)Pot 1: Cuba, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti, Canada and JamaicaPot 2: Antigua and Barbuda, Bermuda, St. Kitts and Nevis, Curacao, Aruba and SurinamePot 3: Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Guadeloupe, St. Lucia and GuyanaPot 4: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada, Cayman Islands, Barbados, Belize and DominicaPot 5: US Virgin Islands, Martinique, Sint Maarten, Saint Martin and MonserratThe draw will begin by placing the seeded teams in their respective groups. Once they have been confirmed, the first team will be drawn from Pot 1 and placed in position A2. The same will be done for the remaining five teams of Pot 1, placing them in positions B2, C2, D2, E2 and F2 according to the order in which they are drawn. The procedure will be repeated for Pots 2, 3, 4 and 5, using group positions 3, 4, 5 and 6 respectively.2018 Concacaf Men’s Under-20 ChampionshipDates: November 1-21, 2018Venue: IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.Teams: Caribbean (25): Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and US Virgin Islands.Central America (7): Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and PanamaNorth America (3): Canada, Mexico and United StatesNumber of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 4Competition Format: The thirty-five participating teams will be sorted into six groups, five groups of six teams and one group of five teams, for the first-round group phase. After round robin play, the six group winners will advance to the qualification stage, where they will be divided into two groups of three teams. After a second-round robin play, the two group winners plus the second-place finishers will qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup. Additionally, the two groups winners will advance to the tournament’s final to determine the regional champion. Vince McKeelast_img

Published by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *